BIOGRAPHY

YUDUM ÇETiNER

SOLO. DUO.QUATTRO.

by Tobias Emanuel Mayer

„To completely surrender yourself to music and to simultaneously share it with others“ Yudum Çetiner

…that’s pianist Yudum Çetiner’s motto that perfectly sums up her artistic commitment in the continuum between the internalization of music and cultural mediation.  In other words: she does not want to keep her passion for music to herself, but wants to share it with the world.  Such is the power of music: to break down societal and social barriers and to build bridges between cultures.

Yudum Çetiner, born in Ankara to a diplomat father and a literature teacher mother, was fascinated by the possibilities of cultural exchange through language, literature, and music from an early age.  Even before she got her first piano lesson, she started to dance, and experienced how different art forms can complement and enhance each other. The enthusiasm for this holistic artistic experience led to her studying dance and music at the Hacettepe University in Ankara at the early age of 13. The piano became her principal means of musical expression, and led her to the Munich University of Music and Performing Arts at the age of 18, after having studied at the Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in Moscow for two years. After completing her art studies with Prof. Bianca Bodalia in 2006, she pursued pedagogical studies in Munich until 2008, following her desire to share her knowledge with others, and then enrolled in a Master of Arts program at the State University of Music and Performing Arts Stuttgart to perfect her skills as a concert pianist. She  successfully completed her Master of Arts degree with professor Shoshana Rudiakov in 2011, followed by a  Master of Arts degree in Piano Chamber Music with professor Hans-Peter Stenzl in  2016.

In line with her communicative and open-minded nature, Yudum Çetiner’s performance repertoire crosses borders and covers not only classical and contemporary music, but also music from other cultures. Traditional Turkish folk music is a particularly important component of her artistic work, as she not only plays it, but also incorporates it in her compositions.  Her arrangement of Fazıl Say’s “Black Earth” for two pianos was recently published by Schott Music. Moreover, she has developed her own multi-faceted musical language and has already composed the soundtrack for a short documentary film.

She has established a reputation as a soloist at major international festivals  (i.a. The German Culture Weeks in Cairo, the International Music Festival (FIMU), and the festival “Made in Stuttgart-Typically Turkish”). She is equally successful with her piano duet “Blanc et Noir” formed in 2008 as well as with the ensemble “Quattro per Due” established in 2012.  “No Limits” is the motto of this extraordinary quartet, consisting of a second pianist and two percussionists, each of them originating from another country and thus predestined for an intercultural musical dialogue.

Yudum Çetiner is a traveller between musical worlds, whose musical expressivity resembles a multicolored mosaic. In many ways, this young dynamic concert pianist, who found her second home in Germany, stands for the multicultural awakening of a new generation of musicians.

BIOGRAFIE

YUDUM ÇETiNER

SOLO. DUO. QUATTRO.

von Tobias Emanuel Mayer

„Der Musik sich ganz und gar hingeben und sie gleichzeitig mit anderen teilen“ Yudum Çetiner

…so das Motto der Pianistin Yudum Çetiner, das ihr künstlerisches Selbstverständnis im Kontinuum von Musikverinnerlichung und Kulturvermittlung auf den Punkt bringt. Anders ausgedrückt: Ihre Leidenschaft für die Musik will sie nicht für sich behalten, sondern diese teilen. Gerade dadurch entfaltet Musik ihre Sprengkraft, überwindet gesellschaftliche sowie soziale Grenzen und baut Brücken zwischen den Kulturen.

Die in Ankara geborene Yudum Çetiner entwickelt als Tochter eines Diplomaten und einer Literaturlehrerin schon früh ein Interesse für kulturellen Austausch durch Sprache, Literatur und Musik in ihrer Vielfalt. Noch vor ihrem ersten Klavierunterricht beginnt sie zu tanzen und erfährt auf diese Weise wie sich die verschiedenen Kunstformen gegenseitig bereichern. Die Begeisterung für dieses ganzheitliche künstlerische Erleben führt dazu, dass sie bereits mit 13 Jahren Tanz und Musik an der Hacettepe Universität in Ankara studiert. Das Klavier wird ihr wichtigstes musikalisches Ausdrucksmittel und führt sie nach einem zweijährigen Studium am Tchaikovsky State Conservatory in Moskau im Alter von 18 Jahren an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München. Dort absolviert sie erst ihr künstlerisches Studium bei der Prof. Bianca Bodalia bis 2016 , gemäß ihres Wunsches ihr Wissen mit anderen zu teilen absolviert sie, bis 2008 ein pädagogisches Studium in München und vertieft anschließend an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Künste Stuttgart ihre Expertise als Konzertpianistin. 2011 schließt sie dort ihr künstlerisches Masterstudium bei der Prof. Shoshana Rudiakov und 2016 ihr Kammermusik-Klavierduo Masterstudium beim Prof. Hans-Peter Stenzl ab.

Entsprechend ihrer kommunikativen, weltoffenen Art ist auch Yudum Çetiners Repertoire grenzüberschreitend und umfasst nicht nur Klassik und zeitgenössische Musik, sondern auch Musik anderer Kulturen. Besonders traditionelle türkische Volksmusik ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil ihres künstlerischen Schaffens, denn diese spielt sie nicht nur, sondern setzt sich mit ihr auch kompositorisch auseinander. So erschien von ihr ein Arrangement von Fazil Says “Black Earth“ für zwei Klaviere beim Schott Music. Außerdem hat sie ihre eigene facettenreiche Tonsprache entwickelt und bereits Filmmusik für einen Kurz- und Dokumentarfilm geschrieben.

Solistisch macht sich Yudum Çetiner einen Namen bei internationalen bedeutenden Festivals (dazu gehören die deutschen Kulturwochen in Kairo, Internationale Musik Festival FIMU und das Festival „Made in Stuttgart-Typisch Türkisch). Darüber hinaus feiert sie ebenso Erfolge mit dem 2008 gegründeten Klavierduo „Blanc et Noir“ und im Ensemble „Quattro per Due“, das 2012 entstand. „Grenzenlos“ ist das Thema dieses außergewöhnlichen Quartetts, zu dem noch eine weitere Pianistin sowie zwei Schlagzeuger gehören, die alle aus einem anderen Land kommen und gerade dadurch prädestiniert sind für einen interkulturellen musikalischen Dialog.

Yudum Çetiner ist eine musikalische Grenzgängerin, deren musikalische Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten wie in einem Mosaik zu einem vielfarbigen Ganzen verschmelzen. So steht diese junge dynamische Konzertpianistin, die in Deutschland eine zweite Heimat gefunden hat, für den multikulturellen Aufbruch einer neuen Musikergeneration.